Liverpool Mozart Orchestra: Sectional Showtime

The sections of the orchestra get to shine in the Liverpool Mozart Orchestra’s (LMO) final concert of its season starting with the wind section in Richard Strauss’s early Suite for 13 Wind. Written for double wind plus four horns and a contrabassoon it is quite the line up and Strauss makes full use of all the players.

For the rest of the concert the LMO welcomes back Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Leader Thelma Handy to direct the orchestra from the violin, starting with Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante, for which she will be joined by fellow Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Principal Nick Bootiman on the viola. Then to finish Thelma will move to the Leader’s chair and direct the strings of the LMO in Tchaikovsky’s ever popular Serenade for Strings, a glorious way to end the concert and the season!

Liverpool Mozart Orchestra are a Tung Auditorium Affiliate Organisation.

Richard Strauss: Suite in B-flat Op. 4 for 13 Wind Instruments
Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for violin and viola, K. 364
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings, Op. 48

Liverpool Mozart Orchestra
Thelma Handy (violin/director)
Nick Bootiman (viola)
Isaac Chan (conductor) (Strauss)

Tickets: £15 (Concs. £5) + booking fee
Concession prices for this concert are available to people in receipt of Universal Credit or Job Seekers Allowance, students and those under the age of 18.
A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.