Liverpool Mozart Orchestra: A European Journey

Our European Journey alas begins with our heroine Isabella shipwrecked on her way from Italy to Algiers in search of her lover Lindoro. Don’t worry, it all works out in the end and the overture to Rossini’s opera opens proceedings in a typically melodic and lively way.

After the interval we find ourselves in Crete, courtesy of extracts from the ballet music to Mozart’s opera Idomeneo, before returning to his homeland of Austria for Schubert’s third symphony. Schubert was a mere 18 years old when he wrote the work yet the music already teems with Schubertian melody and cogent symphonic form.

This concert will last approximately 2 hours (including an interval). An additional concertante work for this programme will be announced shortly.

Liverpool Mozart Orchestra are a Tung Auditorium Affiliate Organisation.

Mozart: Idomeneo – Chaconne & Pas Seul from Ballet Music
Jean Françaix: L’Horloge de Flore
Rossini: Overture from The Italian Girl in Algiers
Schubert: Symphony No.3 in D Major

Liverpool Mozart Orchestra
Michael Shennan (oboe)
Robin Wallington (conductor)

Tickets: £15 (Concs. £5)
Concession prices for this concert are available to people in receipt of Universal Credit or Job Seekers Allowance, students and those under the age of 18.
A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.