MDR Selects – Seatbelts

MDR Selects, a new (old) series where we invite our favourite artists, record stores, labels and more to curate a playlist of songs that hold specific meaning to them. We invited long-time friendos and Liverpool favourite Seatbelts in for our next instalment.

The electro-indie-pop quartet have taken Liverpool by storm over the last year, clocking up numerous local shows, a spot on Sound City Festival and airtime on BBC 6 Music, BBC Radio Wales and BBC Radio Merseyside.

Formed of James Madden & Ryan Murphy (ex-Hooton Tennis Club) Abi Woods (Galileo Girl) and Alex Quinn, the Seatbelts’ hazy, wry indie pop sits right on that perfectly sweet spot between everyman-accessible and art school navel-gazing. Ranging from a languid, warm-glow shuffle through ‘Content Crush‘, to their fizzier, danceable singles like ‘Hey, Hey Tiger‘, the Seatbelts ricochet through a veritable picnic of genres and moods. Their latest video for ‘Spanish Songs‘ dropped juuust last Friday, which you can find a wee link to at the bottom of the page.

We asked Seatbelts to give us a short-course in their musical road training and outline a few of their favourite inspirations, and you can check out the artefacts, tidbits and new-old found treasures below.